Welcome to Denver Botanic Gardens' online registration and ticket purchasing site

Select An Item

Seedlings: A Log's Life

Look closely as we examine what happens to a tree when it becomes a log on the forest floor.

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, March 31, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, April 2, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, April 1, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

Seedlings: April Showers Bring May Flowers

Discover the spring weather that the garden loves!

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, April 28, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, April 30, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, April 29, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

Seedlings: Be a Bee

Buzz through the Gardens as we discover the importance of pollinators.

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, April 14, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, April 16, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, April 15, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

Seedlings: Cool Season Veggies

Investigate the tasty vegetables that like to grow in early spring.

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, April 7, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, April 9, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, April 8, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

Seedlings: Curious Clover

Join us as we take a close look at these three-leafed wonders and discover what makes this plant so special.

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, March 17, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, March 19, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, March 18, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

Seedlings: Earth Day

Celebrate Earth Day as we help prepare our garden beds for planting.

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, April 21, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, April 23, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, April 22, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

 

Seedlings: Rockhounds

Investigate rocks of many shapes and sizes and discover a variety of plants that live among rocks in the garden.

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, March 10, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, March 12, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, March 11, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

Seedlings: Signs of Spring

Get close to the ground to find bright green shoots, spring crocus and other new discoveries that signal the start of spring.

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, March 24, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, March 26, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, March 25, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

 

Seedlings: Super Succulents

Take a closer look at what makes succulents so special.

Ages 18-24 months: Tuesday, March 3, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, March 5, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, March 4, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

Starting Your Garden from Seed

Rocky Mountain Gardening Elective

 

Few things excite a gardener more than buying new plants for their gardens, especially if the plants are exotics, unusual or heirlooms. Second-only to the creation of new plants is the financial benefit of growing your own plants, whether flowers, herbs or vegetables.

This class will demystify the seed-starting process primarily focused to the novice gardener, but a good review of the best success tips if a more advanced gardener needs a refresher. We will cover simple seed botany and the process of best practices for successful seed germination, successful transplanting, and seed collection and storage and cover some of the reasons seeds and seedlings fail.

After discussion, we will present a hands-on demonstration and students will leave with seed trays and seeds to return home and practice what you have learned in class. This class will help you up your game to produce all the transplants you could possibly need and set you up for upcoming classes on spring and summer vegetable gardening and succession planting.

 

 

$32 member, $37 non-member, includes $5 for materials for a seed tray for seed starting, with all necessary materials to get your garden going this year!

 

Instructor: Patti O'Neal

 

Image Courtesy of: photofarmer (flickr)

 

Online Sales powered by Vantix Systems Inc