Welcome to Denver Botanic Gardens' online registration and ticket purchasing site

Select An Item

Sacred Doorways- Byzantine Iconography

More than a decorative element, color plays a very important role in Byzantine iconography, which is one of the oldest art forms to survive unchanged for the past 2,000 years. Students are introduced to both the practical and the theoretical part of the iconographic tradition (iconology). You’ll use natural materials: wood panels gessoed with naturally ground, genuine gold leaf and egg tempera made from natural pigments. You’ll learn the language of light, color, image and symbol, with the iconic symbolism explained alongside the technical instruction.

 

Prerequisite: Open for beginners as well as more experienced icon painters.

 

Fee: $260 member, $310 non-member.

 

Date(s):

Mon, Aug. 26, Sep. 9, 16, 23, 30, 6-9 p.m.

Instructor: Laurence Pierson

 

 

Scratchboard for Fine Details

Pen and ink on clayboard surface is one of the most adaptable and forgiving combinations of pigment, medium and surface. All fear of using ink is gone! Discover the excitement of scratchboard, where contrasts in textures and values produce dramatic and luminous effects. Choose your favorite subject matter, either a conifer cone or another subject with plenty of details, and create a stunning composition. Learn the techniques to convey form, shading, textures and spatial perspective in your composition. The beautiful dried or dormant fruits of winter will provide inspiration for your finished plate in this inspiring weekend workshop. Fee: $240 member, $290 non-member. Prerequisites: Botanical Illustration in Pen and Ink I, Perfecting Perspective, Light on Form.

• Fri-Sun, Nov. 1-3, 9 a.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Instructor: Charlotte Ricker

 

 

Seasonal Discoveries Tour

No matter the time of year, botanical treasures await your discovery with these guided tours of gardens at their seasonal peaks. Experience the Gardens’ landscape at its best, whether through the early bulbs of spring or the crackling beauty of fall.

 

Price: $14, $12 member, $10 student

 

Special instructions: Tours are outdoors; dress accordingly for the weather. Water, sunscreen and sunglasses are recommended. Please bring booking confirmation. Meet guide in the lobby of the Boettcher Memorial Center after entering through the Gardens main entrance.

 

Notes: Prices include admission to the Gardens. Tours with low registration are subject to cancellation.

 

Seed to Table Gardening Series for Homeschoolers

Calling all aspiring gardeners! In this five-week series of classes, families will deepen their understanding of planting and growing a successful garden in Colorado. Grow plants from start to finish while learning to sow your own seeds, working side by side with a Denver Botanic Gardens horticulturist and developing gardening techniques. Each week, children will engage in active hands-on learning both in and out of the classroom. At the end of five weeks each young aspiring gardener will take home a seasonal container garden. This program series is designed for children ages 6-10.

 

Session Dates:

- Tuesday October 22, 2019

- Tuesday October 29, 2019

- Tuesday November 5, 2019

- Tuesday November 12, 2019

- Tuesday November 19, 2019

 

Price: $100 per child for 5-week series. One adult per child is free of charge. Adults are required to stay onsite during the program.

Seedlings: 2019 Fall Series Package

Register for all 15 classes offered September through December, and receive a $30 savings over the individual price.

Seedlings classes offer a fun, hands-on way for young children, ages 18 months to six years, to explore the plant world while developing an understanding and appreciation for plants and their importance. Classes include interactive explorations, nature walks, and stories for children and their caregivers.

You will need to choose a date and time for each of the 15 classes. Please keep in mind that classes are offered for three different age groups and are modified to fit the developmental needs of each group. Please select the session appropriate for your child's age.

No partial registrations.

Seedlings: Apples and Cinnamon

Discover more about apples as we make some fun treats from the fabulous spices in our lives.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, September 18, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, September 19, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, September 20, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Bug Bungalows

Explore the many different colors, textures and sizes of our garden friends!

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, September 11, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, September 12, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, September 13, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Cornucopia

Our budding gardeners look at the last harvest of the season.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, November 20, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, November 21, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, November 22, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Curious Corn

Take an up-close look at an ear of corn and discover its many unusual uses.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, October 9, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, October 10, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, October 11, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Fall Frolic

Kick off the official start of the fall season in the garden!

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, September 25, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, September 26, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, September 27, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Fun in the Sun

Put on your sunglasses as we investigate the power of the sun!

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, July 30, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, July 31, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, August 1, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, August 2, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Garden Games

The Mordecai Children’s Garden is a perfect place to be active and have fun! Join us for some summertime fun in the Garden.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, August 20, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, August 21, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, August 22, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, August 23, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Gnome Homes

Explore the mystical world of gnomes and search the grounds of the Mordecai Children’s Garden for secret gnome homes!

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, August 27, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, August 28, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, August 29, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, August 30, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Harvest Treasures

Roll up your sleeves for some harvest fun! We explore the many ways autumn plants inspire art and fun.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, November 13, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, November 14, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, November 15, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Holiday Treats - The Plants We Eat!

Discover where some of our favorite flavors come from.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, December 18, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, December 19, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, December 20, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Life in the Pond

Peek into the depths of Pipsqueak Pond to discover the many plants and animals that call the pond home.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, July 23, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, July 24, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, July 25, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, July 26, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Magical Monarchs

Explore the life cycle of a butterfly and discover the magnificent monarch!

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, September 4, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, September 5, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, September 6, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

 

Seedlings: Magical Woods

Explore the world of special trees that stay green all year long.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, December 4, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, December 5, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, December 6, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Melon Madness

What makes a perfect treat on a hot summer’s day? Watermelon of course! Come with us as we explore watermelon and its related fruit family.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, July 16, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, July 17, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, July 18, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, July 19, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Musical Garden

Join us as we explore the sounds of nature and the music of plants!

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, August 6, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, August 7, 9:30 a.m. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, August 8, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, August 9, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Online Sales powered by Vantix Systems Inc