Welcome to Denver Botanic Gardens' online registration and ticket purchasing site

Children & Families

 

Cancellation Policy: Cancellations more than one week prior to a class are subject to a 15% cancellation fee. Cancellations with less than one weeks notice are non-refundable; please consider your payment a donation to the Gardens.

 

Bat Encounter: Live!

See some of the rarest bats in the world, up-close and personal in this one-of-a-kind educational program.

In this family-friendly, live animal program, you'll come face-to-face with different bats from around the world. Learn how bats impact humans and keep our environment healthy.

Don't miss this fascinating show for all ages presented by Rob Mies, Director of the Organization for Bat Conservation at Michigan's Cranbrook Institute of Science.

Organization for Bat Conservation's live bat programs have won many awards and are a truly unique experience.

To view slides of some of the bats you might see and to learn more about bats, visit www.batconservation.org.

Price: $15.50 non-member adult, $12.50 member adult, $8 child (ages 3-15) includes admission to the Gardens

Dia De Los Muertos

Día de los Muertos (Day of the Dead), a Mexican celebration, is a day to celebrate, remember and prepare special foods in honor of those who have departed. On this day in Mexico the streets near the cemeteries are filled with decorations of papel picado, flowers, candy calaveras (skeletons and skulls), and parades. It is believed that the spirit of the dead visit their families on October 31 and leave on November 2.

 

Family Workshop: Garden Garlands and Wreaths

Explore the beauty of the Gardens as the seasons change. Take a nature walk through the Gardens and then use seeds, branches and greens to create a display of nature. Each child will create a wreath to take home.

Family Workshops are a great way for families to spend time together while discovering the beauty, diversity and importance of plants. Classes are designed for families with children ages 5-10.

Price: $12 non-member adult, $10 member adult; $17 non-member child, $15 member child

 

Family Workshop: Warm Winter Cocoa

Explore the chocolate tree and its celebrated history. Follow the journey of a cacao bean and discover how chocolate is made. Join us as we warm up on a cold day by making hot chocolate from scratch! Create a hot chocolate mix to take home.

Family Workshops are a great way for families to spend time together while discovering the beauty, diversity and importance of plants. Classes are designed for families with children ages 5-10.

Price: $12 non-member adult, $10 member adult; $17 non-member child, $15 member child

Seedlings: Chocolate Treats

Do chocolate bars grow on trees? We’ll find out as we taste chocolate from different parts of the world and make a special chocolate treat.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, December 5, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, December 6, 9:30. or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, December 7, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, December 8, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Fall Foliage Fun

Investigate the diversity of the shape, color and size of leaves through art.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, October 17, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, October 18, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, October19, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, October 20, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Garden Hibernation

Help Mordecai Children’s Garden get ready for winter as you discover what plants and animals do when it gets cold.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, November 7, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, November 8, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Thursday, November 9, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Friday, November 10, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Jumping Gingerbread

Discover the tasty plant that makes gingerbread a treat.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, December 19, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, December 20, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, December 21, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, December 22, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Marvelous Marigolds

Discover the magic of these fragrant and festive fall flowers.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, October 31, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, November 1, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, November 2, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, November 3, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Owls!

Discover whooooooo flies around the Children’s Garden at night.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, November 28, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, November 29, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, November 30, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, December 1, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Plentiful Potatoes

Who knew potatoes could be so much fun? Join us as we discover the potato plant with our five senses.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, November 14, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, November 15, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, November 16, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, November 17, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Pumpkins, Gourds and More!

Join us as we meet the members of the pumpkin family.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, October 24, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, October 25, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, October 26, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, October 27, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Seedlings: Tropical Fruit Salad

Discover the delicious treats that come to us from the rainforest as we journey deep into the jungle.

• Ages 3-6 years: Tuesday, December 12, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 3-6 years: Wednesday, December 13, 9:30 or 11 a.m.

• Ages 24-36 months: Thursday, December 14, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

• Ages 18-24 months: Friday, December 15, 9:30 or 10:45 a.m.

Online Sales powered by Vantix Systems Inc